The 5 ways to NOT start anew.

A lot of lists these days just tell you how to do things, giving you a variety of helpful bits of advice to start whatever it is you want to start. Well, you know what, I’m not going to lecture you, nor am I going to pretend like I’m an authority on the subject. Because I’m not.

HOWEVER, as a college student, I do have the authority to tell you NOT how to start a new. Because, you know, I’ve had plenty of opportunities to start anew, and I didn’t take the chance. So, as I’ve experienced most of these first hand, I can tell you that this is NOT the way to succeed, and that you shouldn’t follow my example. If you want to succeed, and actually start anew, then don’t follow this list.

And if any of you are trying to start anew, but are following these examples on this list. You probably will fail. So don’t do it.

  1. Do nothing.

    Well, you know, it’s not like what you’re doing now is wrong, right? I mean, come on, YOLO, right? Let’s just go burn time watching Netflix or picking noses, because there’s really no reason to change anything.

  2. Procrastinate.

    I can just start something after finishing this book. Or I can change myself once this semester ends and summer begins. It’s not really a good time for it anyway, it’s still in the middle of the semester, so it’d be kind of weird to change now.

  3. Wait for someone or something to paint the Starting Line.

    You know, I’m going to wait until I buy this goldfish before I start changing myself. It’ll be my symbol of change with all of its glassy-eyed goodness. Something that signifies this change has to happen, right? I can’t just change by myself.

  4. Discourage yourself from doing it.

    Why do it anyway? Probably some other person out there does it better than I can. Besides, I’m not that strong of a person, there’s no way I’m going to be able to pull this off. I doubt there’s much little old me can do. I’ll just revert to my own ways and become miss shut in, no-friends, a no-change person. I mean, I’m already in the habit of doing things this way anyway, right? Why change anything?

  5. Don’t talk to anyone about it.

    I don’t want to burden my friends with all this useless talk. I mean, even if my entire life and everything I’ve ever learned is due to other people and how they’ve treated me, and even if I’m completely dependent on people, I can do this by myself, right? I’m not so pathetic that I need some other person to help me. It’s not like I’ll do something stupid if I don’t rationally think over my plans, right?

     

    If you’ve read over this list and are curious as to HOW to start anew, here it is: DO IT. Start changing!

    A lot of the time, the problem is that we push it off and overthink things and never start it. More than likely, if you start it, you’ll be able to continue it. Sure, it’s not a foolproof way it start anew, but at least it’s something.

    Otherwise, follow this list. Nothing will happen. Everyone will be just fine. We’ll fit into the same old routine. Like always.

     

    See you next week!

Leave a Reply

