It’s Easter Weekend, I’m poor, and I’ve got too much time…. What now?

Well, I’ve now got four days of free time on my hands (other than going to church and the like) and in here lies the question: what should I do with my free time? Most of my friends have gone home, there are no classes to go to, and although there’s homework, there are no deadlines pressing enough to force me to do it.

So I’ve comprised this list to help me, and you, if you’re in the same predicament I’m in, to help you spend your free time without feeling like you’re wasting it and without spending too much money. As much as I’d love to say I could just read books for four days straight, not everyone can do that (and neither can I. Well, I could, but where’s the fun in that?).

So here it is:

  • Take a walk
    • That’s right. Take a walk. Even after you’ve gone to the gym and sweated your butt off, go take a walk. For me, it helps me cultivate ideas, and since the weather’s FINALLY warm enough where I’m at, it’s the time to take a walk.
  • Call someone you haven’t seen or heard from in a while.
    • Call some high school friends, or middle school friends, or just that neighbor that moved away all those years ago. Doesn’t matter. Could be someone you held a grudge on. Could be your childhood sweetheart. Could be your crazy uncle who raves on about laundry. Who cares who. Just call them.
  • Start on a Project you’ve been holding off on.
    • If you’re a procrastinator like me, then you’ve probably got some things that you’ve left to simmer in the back of your mental closet. If you’ve got free time, take it off the back burner and just START it. Starting it is the best way to not procrastinate. Go clean out your yard, plant those flowers, or write that novel you’ve always wanted to write.
  • Try a new restaurant
    • Basically, if you’ve got time to burn, then try something new. You might find something, or you might not.
  • Do some errands
    • I know, boring, right? But do these first if you can, and then do fun things later. Leaving errands off to times when you’re busy can end badly.
  • Do your homework
    • Great. More boring things. But if you do have an essay that you could be starting, do it now. Don’t let it be the monster that rears its ugly head right after you’ve enjoyed your Easter dinner.
  • Go to church
    • I did say that this list was to fulfill meaningful tasks, right? Well, here’s your main mission. Go to an Easter service. Chocolate and bunnies are nice and all, but they’re not the real reason for the holiday.
  • Do something you’ve wanted to do.
    • Wanted to take a class for a while? Do it. Wanted to learn something new? Find someone who can teach you. Go paint a picture, watch a TV show, whatever. Find your list of suggestions given by friends for shows that you haven’t started yet and at least knock a few of them out.
  • Go to the mall
    • You don’t have to buy anything. Just look. Be the annoying customer that looks at stuff and doesn’t buy anything. Sure, it’s awkward having to deal with over-friendly store clerks. But ignore them. (Or an alternative: kick them and run. Although violent, it’s effective.)
  • And finally, read a book.
    • Sure, this isn’t something you should do your entire weekend, but still take it into consideration. Books are wonderful. Maybe visit Barnes and Noble or BAM and get a latte while reading. It’s still meaningful, calming, and stories always teach you something.

       

    I know, life can be hard when there’s just so much time, and so little to do. But do not fret! This list can help it pass right by. I think. If you look at it hard enough.

     

    See you next week!

Leave a Reply

