Finding your vocation and eating it for breakfast.

“This is a gift I have, simple, simple; a foolish extravagant spirit, full of forms, figures, shapes, objects, ideas, apprehensions, motions, revolutions… But the gift of good in those in whom it is acute, and I am thankful for it.”

                                    -William Shakespeare

I want to celebrate that I am a writer today.

Writing is the dream I held onto the longest. On that day, when the fleeting thought transformed into a dream, writing became what spurs me onto another day, an imaginative life, an expansive world. It is something I feel my God pushed me head-first into, although I haven’t a clue what I’ll find on the opposite side of the mountain.

“An essential aspect of creativity is not being afraid to fail.”

    -Edwin Land

Before I knew myself as a writer, my future was hazy, my dreams scattered across the heavens and entangled in the ethereal. It was a scary thing, trying to recall the names of constellations when I’d never seen the stars that made them up.

But the beautiful thing about stars is that they’re beauty does not need constellations to make the sky any more beautiful. They shine on their own.

The reason why I celebrate writing is because it makes me feel free, wonderful and that I am made up of beautiful things. I am more than dust or dirt, I am a writer. I know God wants me to feel that way.

Writing is a gift that was given to me.

A career counselor came to my English class one day, and showed us a video on finding our vocation, which my college has a definition for.

Their definition of vocation is: where your passions and the world’s need meet.

The man in the video spoke about finding the activity in which sparks inspiration and happiness. All one needs to do to find it is to think of what part of the day that flies by the fastest. When do you feel the best about yourself? When does it feel the world is right for a moment?

“While we have the gift of life, it seems to me the only tragedy is to allow part of us to die – whether it is our spirit, our creativity or our glorious uniqueness.”

    Gilda Radner


That is what writing is to me.

I’m glad for dreams; glad to see children with their hands reaching towards the sky, a fraying red towel tied around their neck. I’m glad to hear my friends taking courses in the interest of achieving their goals, and starting to take their first steps up the ladder. Having a dream is the first of many stepping stone to discovering a vocation. Finding the rest of the path is up to you. The stepping stones are there, although you may have to wait until the tide lowers.

Celebrate your wonderful, creative self. God gave it to you for a reason. Now enjoy it.

See you next week!

2 thoughts on “Finding your vocation and eating it for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

