My Favorite Writing Quotes

“Substitute ‘damn’ every time you’re inclined to write ‘very;’ your editor will delete it and the writing will be just as it should be.” 
 Mark Twain

“You never have to change anything you got up in the middle of the night to write.” 
 Saul Bellow

“No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.” 
 Robert Frost

“You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.” 
 Ray BradburyZen in the Art of Writing

“We have to continually be jumping off cliffs and developing our wings on the way down.” 
 Kurt Vonnegut

“We live and breathe words. …. It was books that made me feel that perhaps I was not completely alone. They could be honest with me, and I with them. Reading your words, what you wrote, how you were lonely sometimes and afraid, but always brave; the way you saw the world, its colors and textures and sounds, I felt–I felt the way you thought, hoped, felt, dreamt. I felt I was dreaming and thinking and feeling with you. I dreamed what you dreamed, wanted what you wanted–and then I realized that truly I just wanted you.” 
 Cassandra ClareClockwork Prince

“A blank piece of paper is God’s way of telling us how hard it to be God.” 
 Sidney Sheldon

“Why does one begin to write? Because she feels misunderstood, I guess. Because it never comes out clearly enough when she tries to speak. Because she wants to rephrase the world, to take it in and give it back again differently, so that everything is used and nothing is lost. Because it’s something to do to pass the time until she is old enough to experience the things she writes about.” 
 Nicole Krauss

~~

Just felt like I needed some quotes today. They really help inspire me and spurring me forward when things feel all stopped up. Hope these help you as well!

See you next week!

A.C.Rooks

Leave a Reply

