So You Think You Can Write?

Here you are. You worked for this. You stayed up late, woke early, every day, every night, for THIS. As the crowd is at the edge of their cushioned, tight-knit seats, waiting to hear you, you prepare to give them what they came for. The lights are all aimed and ready for your every move. You’re afraid, chest pains prove that, but the fear pushes you onward, and now, you hold the audience between the palms of your ink-stained hands.

    This is being a writer. Well, okay, not in a physical sense, unless you’re J.K. Rowling, but the essence of celebrity is somewhat the essence of a writer. How else would you woo readers if you did not put everything into your performance, if you did not have the personality to attract fans, if you did not have the tenacity to find the people to push you to the top? There are reasons why some people can become celebrities, it is because they either a) worked themselves hard enough to get to their positions or b) had the connections to do it. If you’re like me and came from your average family, then b) is probably not your answer.

    So, we find ourselves with a) working hard enough to reach a higher position. Unfortunately, there is no “American Writer” (American Idol reference, if you’ve ever watched the show.) television competition, because frankly, it would be boring for a lot of people to watch someone in the process of writing. (Okay, I would love to watch that for my own reasons, but the rest of America would probably disagree. The show wouldn’t make enough revenue to last a week.) So we have to find our own ways to push ourselves to the top. That would be: writing, social networking, a platform, finding a literary agent, planning ahead, and being organized. And to have all that going? You have to have TENACITY baby.

    Tenacity is when, despite everything else, you keep on going. ‘The Little Engine That Could’ had TENACITY. Because, if you’ve read the book or watched any of the cartoons, that little engine went up hills because it wanted to. It pushed itself. That means, if you want your writing to transverse hills, you’ve got to push yourself beyond your comfort zones, and step beyond the boundaries that either a) you made unconsciously for yourself or b) other people made unconsciously for yourself. (If they made them for you consciously, then step away. RIGHT NOW. If you can.)

    Being a writer isn’t easy. I am a writer (at least, I must drill myself with this every day to remind myself of this, lest I forget), and I know this is true. I haven’t published any books, so maybe, you might think I’m being a bit hard on myself here, but I don’t think so. EVERY DAY I DON’T WRITE is like one day I just decided NOT to go to class. That means I missed ALL THE THINGS I should have learned that day. And guess what, no one will, or will ever write down the notes for me.

    I’d love to put the blame on college for my own laziness, but in truth, it’s my habit’s fault. If I woke up earlier in the morning and made a point to write, so I couldn’t use the excuse ‘I’m too tired from class today’, then I would be a lot more successful in writing. I haven’t been diligent with my habits, and it has cost me. I was writing pretty well until I got to this Writer’s Block lazy time. I’ve almost forgotten writing now, and frankly, I’m angry at myself for this. I can’t communicate like I used to. I’m going stale.

    Luckily, I’m not completely out of the game. I’ve been writing these blogs, I’ve been reading, and I’ve been observing. The awesome thing about writing is IT NEVER STOPS.
Unless you want it to. Every little part of life is something you can put into writing, if you allow it to be more than just mundane, everyday boring stuff. That means, for you people who want to be writers, you’ve got to put on a lens in your life looking for ways to connect stuff to your stories. You’ve got to see the world from a step away, and see all the problems you find, what you could comment on. That means, making relationships, learning how to foster them, see how they affect you. NOTE: Make sure life AFFECTS you. Because if life doesn’t affect you. Any life you put into a book won’t affect you. And if your book doesn’t affect you? Forget agents, readers, or anyone else. It’s not going anywhere unless you have connections. And even if you did, no one would love it, other than the fact it came from your name. And when you’re at the point of using your name to make your writing reach farther? You’ve reached narcissism. Once you’ve reached that point, you need to take a step back.

    So, you think you want to write? Well, go ahead then, with this lesson in mind. To be a writer, know you’re a writer, move like a writer, know you’re special, don’t get lazy, and whatever you do, DON’T LET IT GET TO YOUR HEAD. That’s your lesson this week. Eat it with some cookies and milk. It’s delicious.

    I got my inspiration for some of this blog from these blogs, check them out!:

    Kristen Lamb’s Blog: Successful Author Presence—Do You Have it? – http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/2013/03/29/successful-author-presence-do-you-have-it/

    Write With Warnimont: Crushing Writer’s Anxiety: http://www.writewithwarnimont.com/crushing-writer-anxiety

    See you Monday. ;)

    A.C. Rooks

4 thoughts on “So You Think You Can Write?

  1. Good points — you’re absolutely right that not writing for a day is like not going to class. Just remember not to put the cart before the horse or you’ll be doing damage rather than good (ie no contacting publishers or agents yet!). It’s so tempting, but you’re on the right track. Write every day. Write when you don’t want to. View even your academic writing as an experience in writing. The best writers are those who know how to master multiple genres, and academic is one of them (shunned though it is). :) As the Dalai Lama said, learn the rules so that you know how to break them properly! :D

    • I agree with you totally! And you’re right about academic writing, though I’ve never thought of it that way before. Essays are definitely one of my weaknesses, just because how constricted your writing style has to be sometimes. But you are still learning by writing that way!

Leave a Reply

