You Don’t Have to Be a Zombie to Eat Flesh

    Great!
Now that I have your attention, I’m going to have to eat your brains.

    Wait! Don’t leave, I’m just kidding. I swear that I’m not a cannibal, and I’m not going to make you become one either. I was simply broaching a topic which came up during my week, with some of my friends. (Yes, I have strange friends, and I am strange. I think we’ve established this already)
    So, basically, we were joking about how we deal with our dead. I mean, don’t you think it would be a lot more efficient if we just ate our dead instead of burying them or burning them? Don’t get me wrong, I’m not going to bring this issue up to the government, but it’s a funny thing to think about. What if we put ‘you can eat me’ on the back of our driver’s license, along with ‘organ donor’ or something like that?

    Hahaha, it’s a disturbing thought, isn’t it? I know for a fact that I would probably never do this, just because I don’t fancy the thought of someone eating my arm like a drumstick. However, it does show something about our society these days, how much we value the human body. Maybe it’s the influence of the Bible, the fact that humans were so important in God’s eyes. Maybe it’s because we grow attachments to these people around us, and we couldn’t bear to even think of doing such a heinous thing like eating our relatives. We’re not starving cave-men, so there’s really no need to go that far either.

My question is: how important are we really?

    In Sociology Class this week, we discussed the issue of Social Inequality and how it shapes our American lives. I mean, just by looking at a photo, one can usually tell the class (middle class, millionaire, below the poverty line, etc.) of the human being in it. Or in school, you can tell which students are the nerds, the jocks, the cheerleaders, etc. I hate to bring up stereotypes, but those are what we usually classify humans under, as long as we don’t know them very well. Almost every aspect of our lives has been placed into a sort of caste system, like who’s the ones being paid, the ones paying, the ones who rule, the ones who follow. And we pay the price.

    Along with inequality, comes insecurity. We become aware of how people view us, and are sensitive to every change of mood. Did they get bored of me? Will the leave me? I know, because this is an everyday struggle for me. As a people pleaser, I base my mood off of how people are treating me. If I’m included, I’m happy. If not, well, down into the gutter I go.

    Then, comes the narcissism. Think about it. How do we, as humans, fight off inequality? When we don’t have the means to raise ourselves on the social ladder, we have to raise ourselves up in a different way. We can begin to defend ourselves with vain pride. Maybe even resorting to violence to fix things. All of these points we discussed mentioned above in class hit the mark, and it hurt me. Why, when we humans were so fearfully and
wonderfully made in the womb, end up divided by how much money we have; the clothes we wear and the connections we have?

    I’ve been to poorer countries, and I have wonderful memories of those in poverty being some of the kindest people I’ve met. Sometimes, I just wish we could all look at each other from the same step. I wish I wouldn’t feel nervous whenever I’m near a celebrity. I feel ashamed when I realize how much I have, how easy my life is, compared to what those underneath the poverty line have. I just wish there was something I could do, don’t you?

    What is so different in humans? Maybe, when I try to swim, I flounder, and lose breath after a hundred. Maybe I don’t know how to do a tea ceremony, and I certainly don’t compete to be a Wedding singer. I really stink at any kind of dance, I work harder to get a fraction of the grades some people get. And I work less than some people who get a fraction of my grade. But no matter what the performance, what we do, what our voice sounds like, how many times we cry, how much we work, we are humans, aren’t we?

    We value each other, and that’s certainly a reason why we don’t eat each other, even after death.

    Actually, I’m working on a novel right now that has that theme somewhat. It’s called Marked on Figment, but it will eventually become The Chronicles of the Silver Shadow eventually. In this book’s society, you’re rank is given to you at birth by the sort of Mark, a tattoo of sorts, that appears on your skin. The main character, Lyn, is a slave, and also a night marauder of sorts. The novel obviously has many more elements, but I hope to tackle this theme a bit! You can read the first draft of the Prologue/1st chapter here: http://figment.com/books/523464-Marked

    So lesson this week? Well, love your brothers, and make sure you don’t eat them! Especially when alive. I mean, I think you’d run out of friends if you ate them all, right? Just give them a really big hug! For me if you need an excuse. ;)

    (Oh, and note, I think I’m going to begin writing blogs on Fridays AND Mondays!)

    So, see you Monday!

    A.C. Rooks

5 thoughts on “You Don’t Have to Be a Zombie to Eat Flesh

  1. In practical terms, eating human meat is really unhealthy. In the first place, any organisms living in the person you’re eating are going to be able to live in you, right? You have to cook pork really well because so many things that live in pigs can also live in humans–you’d have to cook long pork even more. We’re talking charred, here. In the second place, humans don’t tend to be that lean, you know? Some of us more than others, but mostly we’re pretty well marbled with fat. So it might not have anything to do with liking other people, it might have to do with wanting to stay healthy. Tribes that practice cannibalism tend to have lowered life expectancy.

    • Really? I didn’t know that. xD Though it’s a good thing to know. Glad I’m not going cannibal, and definitely something to keep in mind for any novels.

      And that’s true… I guess we probably wouldn’t taste good either. Kind of a shame, but also kind of a relief.

Leave a Reply

